Wisconsin Restaurant Association Header Top Menu Dining Guide WRA Gift Certificates ServSafe Expo Home

Laws & Regulations
ServSafe Food Safety
Dining Guide
Find Goods & Services
Gift Certificates
News & Alerts

WRA Media Contact:

Tracy Kosbau
Vice President of Marketing and Public Relations

WRA ad

March 15, 2013

Steve Schilling photoRestaurant Industry Leaders Honored at 2013 Annual Awards Dinner

The Wisconsin Restaurant Association announced the Association’s top awards at the annual WRA Awards Dinner, held at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts in Milwaukee on March 12th in conjunction with the Wisconsin Restaurant Expo.

Steve Schilling, owner of ZaZING! in North Prairie, was named Restaurateur of the Year, WRA’s highest honor. The Restaurateur of the Year award is given to an operator who demonstrates participation and service to the restaurant association, success within their own restaurant and participation in community activities.  The winner is selected at a private meeting of past Restaurateur of the Year recipients.

Schilling owns and operates ZaZING!, a cozy little restaurant with an emphasis on quality and freshness that does a booming takeout business. Customers rave about his “primo pizza and chicken,” gyros, wings and ice cream, all served by well-trained and friendly staff.

Click here for more on Steve Schilling

Rhoda Steffel from Mark’s East Side in Appleton was honored with the Chapter Hero Award, recognizing her outstanding service to her local Wisconsin Restaurant Association Big Four chapter.

Click here for more on Rhoda Steffel

Wisconsin Restaurant Association regional Chapters awarded the following Outstanding Restaurateur of the Year Awards:

Big Four Chapter (Outagamie, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago Counties)
Dawn Balthazor, Romy’s Nitingale, Black Creek
Click here for more on Dawn Balthazor

Green Bay Chapter (Shawano, Brown and Outagamie Counties)
Brent Weycker, Titletown Brewing, Green Bay
Click here for more on Brent Weycker

La Crosse Chapter (La Crosse, Jackson, Monroe and Vernon Counties)
David Holtze, retired
Click here for more on David Holtze

Madison (Dane and Jefferson counties)
Karen Meyer, Imperial Garden West, Middleton
Click here for more on Karen Meyer

Milwaukee Chapter (Ozaukee, Washington, Waukesha and Milwaukee Counties)
Joe LoPiparo, That’s Amore, Greenfield
Click here for more on Joe Lopiparo

West Wisconsin Chapter (Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire and Jackson Counties)
Mike Hable, Bohemian Ovens, Bloomer
Click here for more on Mike Hable

Wisconsin River Valley (Marathon, Wood, Portage, Adams and Waushara and Juneau counties)
Don Thompson, Red Mill Supper Club, Stevens Point
Click here for more on Don Thompson

The Chapter Outstanding Restaurateur Award is given based on success in business, community service and dedication to the restaurant industry.

- END -

Since 1933, the Wisconsin Restaurant Association has been dedicated to the promotion, protection and improvement of the foodservice industry.

Wisconsin Restaurant Association logo Home
      Member Info
Members Only
Industry Suppliers
Online Store

Dining Guide
Facebook button Twitter LinkedIn logo YouTube button Instagram button Google+ button

WRA Business Hours:
8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Wisconsin Restaurant Association • 2801 Fish Hatchery Rd. • Madison, WI 53713 • Tel: 608.270.9950 • Toll Free: 800.589.3211 • FAX: 608.270.9960